Igor Stravinsky
Octet for Winds
Igor Stravinsky
Symphonies of Wind Instruments
Igor Stravinsky
Les Noces for Soloists, Choir, four Pianos, and Percussion

In their first collaboration, Ukrainian conductor Oksana Lyniv and the Boulez Ensemble present an insightful homage to Igor Stravinsky—with the program’s three works reflecting the composer’s transition from the “Russian” style of his early years to his neo-classical period. Les Noces, a ballet about a Russian peasant wedding begun in 1914 but not premiered until almost a decade later, once again reveals Stravinsky’s fascination with the traditional music of his homeland. The Symphonies of Wind Instruments from 1920 and the Wind Octet, written a few years later, marked the beginning of his exploration of 18th-century techniques and forms.

Due to the current situation in her home country Ukraine and its impact on her family and friends, Oksana Lyniv is unable to adequately prepare for such a challenging program and regretfully must cancel her participation in this concert. We are grateful to Matthias Pintscher for stepping in on short notice to conduct the concert. The program remains the same as originally announced.

Approximate running time: 45m ohne Pause
Read Program
Pierre Boulez Saal
Französische Straße 33 D
10117 Berlin
Season 2021/22,
Ensemble & Orchestra
Vergangene Veranstaltung

Event weiterempfehlen:

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen