Franz Schubert
String Quartet in G major D 887
An Alleged Suite
Traditional Music and Dance Movements by Marc-Antoine Charpentier, John Adams, and Felix Blumenfeld
Scandinavian Folk Music
Arrangements for String Quartet

In 1994, John Adams wrote John’s Book of Alleged Dances, a collection of imaginary dances, the steps of which, as the composer explained, have yet to be invented. For its concert at the Pierre Boulez Saal during Quartet Week, the Danish String Quartet takes the idea even further, presenting an “Alleged Suite,” in which a selection from Adams’s ten movements is combined with works by Marc-Antoine Charpentier, Felix Blumenfeld, and traditional music. Schubert’s monumental G-major String Quartet opens the program, which also includes the four musicians’ own arrangements of Scandinavian folk music.

There will be no intermission. Doors open one hour before the concert.

This event is part of the “Perspektive Kultur” pilot project.

Please note that all guests must undergo a Covid test within 24 hours prior to the event. Testing is available at all official locations; you can find a list on the Senate Department of Health, Human Services and Equal Opportunity website at The full Terms and Conditions applicable to the pilot project can be found here (German only).

Approximate running time: 1h 30m without intermission
Pierre Boulez Saal
Französische Straße 33 D
10117 Berlin
Season 2020/21,
Chamber Music
Past Event
Pierre Boulez Saal

Share event:

See current events