Johannes Brahms
Piano Sonata No. 3 in F minor Op. 5
Nikolai Obukhov
Détresse de Satan (from Révelation)
Nikolai Obukhov
Le Glas d'au-delà (from Révelation)
Franz Liszt
Variations on “Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen” S 180
Ludwig van Beethoven
Piano Sonata in F minor Op. 57 “Appassionata”

Fabian Müller’s solo recital is framed by two sonata masterworks of the Classical and Romantic repertoire. Brahms’s five-movement work is the last of the three pianos sonatas the composer, barely 20 years old, wrote in rapid succession in 1852–3. It shares its “mournful” key of F minor with Beethoven’s “Appassionata,” composed half a century earlier. Rounding out the program are Liszt’s meditation on Bach’s cantata “Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen” and two pieces by Russian mystic Nikolai Obukhov, written in 1915.

Yefim Bronfman unfortunately had to cancel his concert, originally announced for this date, due to illness. We are grateful to Fabian Müller for stepping in at short notice.

Approximate running time: 1h 45m with one intermission
the artist
Pierre Boulez Saal
Französische Straße 33 D
10117 Berlin
Season 2023/24,
Solo Piano: Beethoven, Brahms, Liszt, Obukhov
Past Event
Pierre Boulez Saal
See current events